Thursday, February 10, 2011

4th Annual National Baseball Arbitration Competition

The 4th Annual National Baseball Arbitration Competition, hosted by the Tulane Sports Law Society, began this morning. We have an incredible group of competitors this year, featuring law schools from across the country. We also have a great group of guest arbitrators, including the following:
  • Michael Weiner, Executive Director and General Counsel, Major League Baseball Players Association.
  • Jon Fetterolf, Partner, Williams & Connolly LLP in Washington D.C.
  • Larry Silverman, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Pittsburgh Pirates.
  • Carter DeLorme, Partner, Jones Day in Washington D.C.; performs salary arbitration work for the Boston Red Sox and Texas Rangers.
  • Clark Griffith, Attorney; AAA Arbitrator; former Owner and Executive Vice President of the Minnesota Twins and former Chairman of Major League Baseball Properties.
  • Fernando Tamayo, former International Scouting Coordinator for the Boston Red Sox.
  • Darren Heitner, CEO, Dynasty Athlete Representation; Chief Editor,
  • Jorge Arangure Jr., Senior Writer, ESPN The Magazine.
  • Josh Byrnes, Vice President of Baseball Operations, San Diego Padres.
  • David P. Fidler, Co-author, Stealing Lives: The Globalization of Baseball and the Tragic Story of Alexis Quiroz.
Following the competition, we will be hosting a half-day symposium at Tulane Law School featuring our guest arbitrators. The symposium is open to the public, so feel free to stop by if you are in the area. Here is the schedule of events:

Friday, February 11th, Tulane Law School Baseball Symposium

2:00-2:05pm Trophy Presentation and Opening Remarks

2:05-2:55pm Mock Salary Arbitration

Representing the Team: Jon Fetterolf
Representing the Player: Josh Byrnes
Arbitrator: Larry Silverman

3:00-4:00pm MLB in the Dominican Republic: Taming the Wild West of
Professional Baseball

Panelists: Jorge Arangure, David P. Fidler, and Fernando Tamayo
Moderator: Darren Heitner

4:10-5:10pm The Upcoming CBA: 16 Years of Labor Peace and Counting?
anelists: Josh Byrnes, Clark Griffith, Larry Silverman, and Michael
Moderator: Professor Gabe Feldman

5:10-5:15pm Closing Remarks by Professor Gabe Feldman